Living Stones Academy

Educating by atmosphere, discipline, and life

Time to start Espanol!

on January 5, 2015

I am so excited to start a new program with the kids: http://cherrydalepress.com

Speaking Spanish with Miss Mason and Francois is based on the works of Francois Gouin. He was a 19th century Latin teacher in France who was dissatisfied with the methods of teaching languages that he was using. I’m not going to reinvent the wheel by telling his story in my own words–haha, considering I teach narration, the irony is not lost on me, I assure you. So you can read about the series method and how/why he developed it here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Language_pedagogy#The_series_method

I read about his works in Charlotte Mason’s Home Education. She used this method in her schools to teach 3-5 languages to even her youngest students. Of course she chose relevant languages of her day and culture–French, German, Italian, Latin, etc. As much as I prefer French over Spanish (sorry, everyone, but I always have), I recognize the need for Spanish in our culture, especially as we currently live in San Diego and it’s everywhere!! I still consider French relevant, but it will come later. Or maybe, like Miss Mason, I’ll add it in next year.

Leave a Reply

